Ender’s Game


Ender’s Game is probably my favorite book. I only say that because I have read it and reread it more than any other. In fact, the first time I sat down to read it, I didn’t stop until I had finished it. It probably took me 16 hours to do it. Luckily I had a long car ride and stayed awake until 2 in the morning.

When I heard that they were going to be making a film version, at first I was excited, and then about 3 minutes later I said, “Oh god no. Please don’t.” Now it has been almost 10 years since I heard about it and it still hasn’t come out.

Wolfgang Peterson was originally supposed to direct it. Since usually he makes is big budget, not very good films (most recently Poseidon, Troy and The Perfect Storm) it made me even more unhappy. Now that he isn’t I am a little relieved.

I hate to say it, but I think the only way to successfully portray what the book is about is to do an animation. I say this for a few reasons. One, most of the main characters are under the age of 13. Where are you going to find at least 4 really good, or even decent, kid actors? Two, some of what I believe to be the most important scenes in the book for character development are very violent. Real kids and violence don’t go together so well. Three, I believe it will be easier to stay truer to the book in animation form due to the space battles. Pod Racing is not what I want to see.

Look at the animation for Tolkien’s The Hobbit. Even though it is hand drawn and totally 70’s it gets the point across. I highly recommend watching the whole thing if you have time. You can find the whole movie on YouTube.

So, I don’t know how to feel about this film. Regardless of what people say about it, if it does ever come out I will go and see it. I know it is hard to hold a film up to the book but it has been successful. Starship Troopers, by Paul Verhoven, a great movie, although it isn’t much like the book at all. The Shining, by Stanley Kubrick, was an amazing movie, again not like the book. Fight Club, by David Fincher, same thing.

The only books I can think of that I really enjoyed where the films stayed totally true are the new Lord of the Rings films by Peter Jackson. He did an amazing job of staying true to the book while still making an fantastic film.

So, since I can only think of 4 live-action films that did a good job coming from a book, isn’t it obvious that Ender’s Game should be animated? A lot of people would argue that even the following animation makes Lord of the Rings better…

The latest news that I can find about this project is that Warner Brothers has lost out and their option has expired. Odd Lot Entertainment has picked up the tab…

Leave a Reply

