I am a Hot Sauce Addict


Step 1: Admit that I have a problem.

Fixed HotI am addicted to spicy condiments. The more pain, the better. If I am eating Japanese food I will know that I have put the perfect amount of wasabi on if I make a face, grab my forehead and lose control of my body. That is the way I like it. Right now in my refrigerator there are 6 different types of hot sauce that are open. In my cupboard there are at least 10 more.

Step 2: Rationalize it so it isn’t a problem anymore and I can go on living just like I have been. Also, compare it to something socially acceptable.

Is it about the pain? I don’t think so. I get a rush when I eat it. It is almost the same as drinking a lot of coffee or something. I am more awake and focused. More energetic and also more focused on other senses than my sight. My sense of touch is on fire (literally and figuratively) and it is also something that I like to do that most other people can’t. If you replace any specific references to that spicy feeling from this last paragraph with drugs you can see where I am beginning to recognize my problem.

My only condolence so far is that I only have about 16 bottles of hot sauce in my house. I still have a house. I still have room in my refrigerator for things that you can actually consider food. This habit does not affect the quality of my work or the relationships I have the people around me. So maybe I don’t have a problem, just an obsession.

Step 3: Change the subject.

Either way, here is something that I made recently:

Most of the Habanero Pepper Recipes out there almost all have fruity flavors to help out. I am not a big fan of that when I eat hot sauce. They go well together but sometimes fruit doesn’t go with what you are putting it on. I set out to create something that is really hot and not fruity. The other problem is that most homemade hot sauces aren’t really that hot. It turned out really tasty and hot and here is how I made it.

I think this is what I did … I think … it wasn’t that recently …

  • ~20 Habanero Peppers Minced
  • 1 Large Onion Diced
  • 5 Cloves of Garlic Minced
  • 1/2 of a Sweet Red Pepper diced
  • 1 Tablespoon Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/2 Tablespoon Sea Salt
  • 1.5 Cups Apple Cider Vinegar

In a pot fry onion, garlic and red pepper until soft. Add habanero’s, salt and pepper and fry for another 3 minutes. Add cider vinegar and cook down to desired thickness.

I made it pretty thick, more like the consistency of ketchup. Good Luck.

3 Responses to “I am a Hot Sauce Addict”

  1. This is the hottest sauce ever. My friend Mark picked it up at the Buffalo Wingfest in 2004. We put one drop on a slice of pizza and almost fainted.
    It is incredibly hot.
    http://www.hotsauceworld.com/hsw1359zn.html

  2. It has an awesome name… again though it is fruity. Does Mark still have some of it left? And is has he been using it? My friend Mike had a bottle of Dave’s Ultimate Insanity Sauce for a few years and he was using it a lot.
    http://www.gourmetmikes.com/daulinsa.html

  3. Yes he still has more than half a bottle!
    We had a get together at my place for a BBQ on Canada Day. He made his homemade sauce and added 8 drops of Z sauce. It was much to hot for everyone. I would like to buy a bottle but the shipping to Canada is very expensive. You should buy one as I believe the shipping charges are minuscule within the US. The Buffalo Wingfest has not had the sauce since 04. If you purchase it…beware!
    P.S. Watch the 1984 movie Savage Streets or 2008 The Cook. Horror\Cheese at its finest. Celler Dweller is another good one but I cant find a download for it. Check out the trailer on youtube.

Leave a Reply

