Breakfast Taco’s


I feel like it has been a long time since I have written about good things to eat. And recently watching the (not so good [in my opinion]) movie “Julie and Julia” doesn’t make me want to blog about food really, but I made these breakfast taco’s this weekend and they were mostly awesome. Before this weekend I hadn’t made them in a long time either so it is an apt parallel to bring them here. By the way, they were only “mostly” awesome because I used not the best salsa on them. More on that later.

I used to make these a lot when I lived in New York City. I would wake up and start making them for my roommate and myself. They can be pretty labor intensive so I would eat and serve them as I was making them, one at a time. They are kinda like waffles in that way. If you want to eat them fresh and hot, you can’t eat them with anyone. Eat em’ as they come off the stove. That is the tastiest way.

Ingredients:

  • Corn Tortilla’s
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Tomato (or your favorite salsa)
  • Spinach (or Kale)
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Peppers (sweet or hot)
  • Mushrooms
  • Greek Yogurt (more like sour cream but tastier)
  • Your Favorite Cheese (shredded)

Obviously not all the ingredients are necessary and just like tacos that you might eat for dinner, toppings are up to you. First thing I usually do is cook my eggs. Scrambling the eggs with a little milk, some Rosemary (crushed up) and the sage. Once those are cooked you can set them aside in a bowl. It won’t matter if they cool down. Next cook all the vegetables (not the tomato) together and add a little pepper to taste. It works the best if you dice them all into small pieces as the corn tortillas are usually really small. Once that cooks you can set it aside with the eggs. Then take a pan and put a little oil in it and throw a tortilla in. Cook one side for a minute and then turn it over. Once you turn it over put some of the cheese down followed by some eggs, the vegetable mixture, tomato and yogurt. Once everything is inside you should fold over half the shell so that it looks like a taco and continue to fry it until you have good brown spots on there. Then flip it so both sides are awesome. Eat almost immediately (this is important).

It is important to wipe the pan after each taco with a rag or a paper towel so that you don’t start burning the tortillas after a few tacos. Another important suggestion is not to use crappy salsa. Use either fresh tomato instead or fresh pico de gallo. Crappy salsa can ruin the whole thing.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

