Around the World


This past weekend something futuristic happened. That is relatively speaking of course… Okay, enough of the bad wordplay that doesn’t make sense … yet.

I spoke with a friend in Germany and my brother in China at the same time. That is incredible. Not only were we able to communicate with barely noticeable lag considering the countries involved, but it was entirely free. When just two of us were on we used video but when the three of us were together we could only hear each other. Skype, the program that we used, is free to download and awesome to use.

There is nothing new about this technology. According to Wikipedia, the idea for this came almost simultaneously with the invention of the telephone in the late 1870’s. The first public videophone was made in Germany in 1936! I remember when I was a kid in the 80’s this technology being touted but never catching on…

Are we finally in the future? I don’t think I would need to call the pizza place to order a pizza with a video phone. The Easiest way might just a text from an application on my cell phone or an email would work for that. But the ability to talk to my brother in China, my sister in the UK, another brother in Canada, “hanging out” with a friend in Germany for a few hours, or showing off my soon-to-be born daughter to my parents is amazing. Now that our world is so small, what is the next thing to come closer … space?

Leave a Reply

