It Really Works!


I live in an old house and the guts of my bathroom were probably built in the 1930’s by some dude. I doubt there was any standardization of how it was done and this person was probably building this house so they could live in it.

I have had a plumber suggest that we stop using the custom drain stopper entirely. He said that if it were to break, it would be very difficult and expensive to fix it as parts for it would have to be fabricated.

As with all bathroom drains, it gets a little clogged up once in a while. In the past I have just pulled up the cover and cleaned it out and that was mostly good enough. Once in a while I have to put my pipe snake down there and whirl it around a bit. This time that wasn’t cutting it. Since we aren’t connected to a sewer I didn’t want to pour drain-o into our septic system. Looking around online I found a fairly easy fix. At first I was a little skeptical about it. Drain-O mostly works by slowly, chemically burning any organic materials that might be clogging up a drain. This fix was a mechanical one.

  • Pour a pot of boiling water down your drain
  • Pour 1/2 Cup of Baking Soda in
  • Pour 1/2 Cup Vinegar with 1/2 Cup Water down
  • Cover it up for about 5-10 minutes (so the bubbles can only push one way)
  • Pour another pot of boiling water down

There is nothing like a shower without 2 inches of water swirling around your ankles! Thanks Crunchy Betty!

Picture 1

Leave a Reply

